Sport Northern Ireland Home Page >> News >> COTY 2008 Finalists

Last Updated: Tuesday, 03 June 2020  

2008 Finalist Coaches Announced

Sport Northern Ireland received hundreds of nominations for the 2008 Coach of the Year Awards, sponsored by Podium4Sport. 

Three finalists in each of the five categories have now been chosen and will attend a gala awards dinner on Tuesday 10th June at the University of Ulster, Jordanstown.  The overall Coach of the Year winner will be announced on the night, but one nominee, Jim Berry of Carrickfergus Special Olympics Football Club says it’s an honour to have been nominated.


“I had no idea a colleague had nominated me and I think that was the case for many of the coaches.  It was lovely surprise, and then to hear that I had been shortlisted as a finalist is just superb.  The awards dinner will be quite emotional and it’s a fitting tribute to all the coaches and volunteers across Northern Ireland who give up their spare time to help athletes of all ages and all abilities.”


The five Coach of the Year categories are:  Youth sport; Young Athlete Development; Performance Athletes; Disability; and Lifetime Contribution.   


Eamonn McCartan, Chief Executive of Sport Northern Ireland, commented: “The Coach of t he Year Awards aim to raise not only the profile of coaches, but also to acknowledge and ommend the contribution that they make to the success of sportsmen and women. Their dedication and inspiration helps build more active and healthy communities and it is vital that we recognise their achievements.”


Finalists for the 2008 Coach of the Year Awards sponsored by Podium4Sport are:


Youth Sport

Joe Norwood – Football

Carl Bailie – Swimming

Owen Lambert – rugby


Young Athlete Development

Dr Ian Walker – Volleyball

Greg McCann – Orienteering

Jacqueline Portis – Netball


Performance Athletes

Patrick McKillop – Athletics

Jing Yi Gao – Table tennis

Brendan Mulhulland – Swimming



Gerard McAnulty – GAA

Jim Berry – Football

Patricia Fearon – Trampolining


Lifetime Contribution

Jim Nelson – GAA

William Robert Hollinger – Athletics

Brian Walsh – Cricket



Questions or problems regarding this web site should be directed to [email protected].
Copyright 2008 Sport Northern Ireland. All rights reserved.
Last modified: Tuesday
, 03 June 2020.